AUNDREA

By Carl “Papa” Palmer

Anticipation glistens from her lovely brown eyes
as I open the bow on my Christmas surprise.
All wrapped with her wrapping I slowly unwrap,
exposing an envelope, unsealing the flap.
A certificate for two at “Old Country Buffet,”
the best gift I’ve gotten on this special day.

There’s nothing, my Darling that I’d rather do
than dine at the diner, a dinner for two.
Our meal will be lovely and worth every dime,
but what I value most is this precious time.
This time in my life, the best in the world,
for a Papa to spend with his favorite Grand-girl.

***

Carl “Papa” Palmer of Old Mill Road in Ridgeway, Virginia, lives in University Place, Washington.
He is retired from the military and Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) enjoying life as “Papa”
to his grand descendants and being a Franciscan Hospice volunteer.
PAPA’s MOTTO: Long Weekends Forever!

Published by

AL Shilling

The Green Shoe Sanctuary was created to be a creative space for authors to showcase their short stories.

Leave a comment